Porcino

Type of Cuisine: Classic Italian dishes from a wood-burning oven.
Overview: Casual and contemporary neighbourhood restaurant with enjoyable food and service.

1700  Hyde Park Raod
519-641-7777
www.porcino.ca

Hours: Monday to Saturday, 11:30 am – 9:30 pm; Sunday, 4:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Rating: **** (4)
Price: $$
Price Range: $9.00 – $18.00 (prices the same for lunch and dinner)
Reservations: No

 

Read an article about Porcino’s opening from The Londoner.

 



London Dining Review

London Dining Review is your source for news, information & udpates from within London's food scene. If you're a foodie, stay tuned for up-to-date information from all your favourite restaurants in London!

More Posts

Follow Me:
Twitter

Click here to submit your review.




Submit your review
* Required Field


Below Par

Apr 12, 2013 by Dan Tigchelaar


We read the review in London's 2013 Culinary Guide and thought to try out a new place as a birthday celebration for our two granddaughters. The writeup was promising but the experience was a disappointment. Service was extremely slow. Prices were high and the quality of the food was marginal. We will not return and would likely not recommend this eatery to friends.


Great Place.

Jan 09, 2013 by Dan


5/5 rating. Great atmosphere, great price and great food. We've gone there about once a month since it opened, always had a pleasant experience. Calamari and the gourmet pizzas are a definite favourite. Service has always been excellent, very efficient and to the point, without being fake or always in your face. Great to see some male staff in FOH, reminds me of my student days in the serving business.


Disgusted

Dec 20, 2012 by Jim Thournout


I attended your restuarant last night to entertain my friends/top client only to be told I needed a reservation. It clearly states on this website that you "do not" take reservations,which I had checked prior. Very poor business practice, especially during busy Xmas period, and very embarrassing for me I might add. I had spoken very highly about your establishment previously, but not any longer. You have lost a valued customer.


horrible

Oct 04, 2012 by dissapointed


We recently decided to try this place out, we noticed a white male (who we assumed was the manager) coming in with Angelo's bread and other things in Angelos bags, also we noticed them given their take out bags in Angelo's bakery and deli bags. I'm sure Angelo's would like credit for this. They don't have one standard server per table, they were everywhere(one girl and the manager). The service wasn't up to standards at all. We heard the way the cook talked to one of the servers because he/she wasn't quick on a certain food or messed up on something very minimal. The worst part about this place is the kitchen is RIGHT where you eat so you can hear and smell everything, they have tables surrounding this area and where they cut ANGELOS bread and put them into bread baskets, not their own. Very disorganized, everything was by paper i noticed they would listen to what we orderd, write it down from the menu and THEN hand give it to the chef, who also yelled out into the restaurant when orders were up!!! HORRIBLE!! I've never been to such a disorganized restaurant ever. We have advised friends and people in the area to stay far away from this place. You could make everything they make from buying supplies at Angelos for way cheaper, which i'm sure they do. DO NOT EAT HERE!!!! Such a money grabber.


Very Good

Sep 01, 2012 by Gail Cramer


Went for a very late lunch. They close in between lunch and dinner. We had the risotto balls for an appetizer. They were excellent. Also ordered a panini with salad. Also excellent. One little glitch which I completely understood because we went so late. They were out of calamari. I will definitely be back for calamari and pizza.


Fresh Food on West End!

Aug 22, 2012 by Chris Devlin


Excellent! Food and Service were top notch. Meat Balls are a must! Our table had Meat balls, Mussels, Caesar Salad Spaghetti and Margarita Pizza. Good portions, fair price. I highly recommend giving this place a try. Its nice to go out and get a fresh not frozen dinner.


$3.00 per ravioli. Don't go if you want to leave full.

Aug 14, 2012 by Is hungry trendy now?


We went to try out a new restaurant in the area for dinner.
On the outside we thought it could be a deli, inside was nice. small. quite a few flies. We had 3 different people serve us. 1 of which kept going out to his/a car to get the beer they were serving. Coffee wasn't ready - that's ok, it was good.
I decided on a panini (apparently off the lunch menu)which comes with a side salad - what kind of salad I ask. Orzo something she says, while trying to explain to me what orzo is, though I told her I was aware.
I got green and purple leaves with some oil instead. ohwell, healthier I thought. Still not bad for $8. On the opposite side of my table sat my boyfriend, who decided on the mushroom ravioli. $17. for 7 individual tiny ravioli segments. After tax, it came to $3.00 per ravioli. And this was an entree. No side, nothing...We finally got to pay and leave, at which time we went out for dinner.
We won't go back and have recommended people stay away unless they want to spend a pile of money on being hungry.


Trendy Eatery in Hyde Park

Aug 12, 2012 by Barb & Marv Liley


We have already dined here twice and have enjoyed each experience with pleasant surprises. The meat ball starter is to die for! Best we have ever had. We also tried the wood oven pizza and it was so yummy - everything is prepared from scratch and so fresh. We recommend this new gem in Hyde Park - you won't be disappointed!!


Great food and cute waiter!

Jul 30, 2012 by Donna Smithson


I recently decided to try this place, after hearing about it from some co-workers. I took one of my girlfriends out for a lunch date, and boy were we surprised. The sign outside does not do it justice, as the inside fosters a much more contemporary, classy look. Promptly greeted and seated, our server Laurence was with us in no time. He introduced us to the menu, answered our questions about the restaurant, and got our order quickly and as we ordered. Food was great, service was great, will definitely return with more friends, to show them the small Italian heaven, that many are missing out on.


London Dining Review , USA 3.4 5.0 9 9 We read the review in London's 2013 Culinary Guide and thought to try out a new place as a birthday celebration for our two granddaughters. The writeup was promising but the exper

Comments are closed.